Historic District Commission

The Historic District Commission (HDC) is made up of seven (7) residents appointed by the Village Council for three-year terms. The purpose of the Historic District Commission is to safeguard the heritage of the Village of Franklin by preserving the historic district which reflects elements of its cultural, social, economic, political and architectural history. The HDC is directly responsible for the review and impact evaluation of aesthetic considerations associated with applications for any improvements or alterations with the District limits.

The Historic District Commission follows and provides interpretation of the U.S. Secretary of the Interior’s standards for rehabilitation and guidelines for rehabilitating historic buildings as required by the State of Michigan Historic Preservation Office and US park Service.

Members

Gary Roberts, Chairperson term to 07/23
Mike Brassfield term to 07/24
Alek Kokoszka term to 07/23
Alex Stchekine term to 07/23
Gayle Timmis term to 07/22
Jill Wilke term to 07/22
Laura Witty term to 07/24


Completed Application/Documents Submission Deadlines
Submit original application plus 14 copies.  Electronic copy required.
Link to Application

Board or Commission Meeting Date Submission Date
Historic District Commission Jan 5, 7:00P Mon. 12/13/2021 by 11:00 am 
Historic District Commission Feb 2, 7:00P Mon. 1/10/2022 by 11:00 am
Historic District Commission Mar 2, 7:00P Mon. 2/14/2022 by 11:00 am 
Historic District Commission Apr 6, 7:00P Mon. 3/21/2022 by 11:00 am
Historic District Commission May 4, 7:00P Mon. 4/18/2022 by 11:00 am
Historic District Commission Jun 1, 7:00P Mon. 5/16/2022 by 11:00 am
Historic District Commission Jul 6, 7:00P Mon. 6/20/2022 by 11:00 am
Historic District Commission Aug 3, 7:00P Mon. 7/18/2022 by 11:00 am
Historic District Commission Sep 7, 7:00P Mon. 8/22/2022 by 11:00 am
Historic District Commission Oct 5, 7:00P Mon. 9/19/2022 by 11:00 am
Historic District Commission Nov 2, 7:00P Mon. 10/17/2022 by 11:00 am
Historic District Commission Dec 7, 7:00P Mon. 11/14/2022 by 11:00 am



Design Standards

New Historic District Design Guidelines Booklet also available in the Village Clerk’s office.

Quick Links

Agendas and Minutes
Design Standards
Historic District Map
Historic District Commission Ordinance